Option 5 Destination Rotation Vs. H&K Tube Rotosphere?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by jbright44, Dec 22, 2005.

1. jbright44

jbright44 Member

How do these two Leslie Sims compare to each other? Are there any others out there that you guys and gals might prefer? Inquiring minds want to know. I'm going for that Mike Einziger and that David Gilmore watery liquid sound.

2. jbright44

jbright44 Member

any opinions on this

3. drolling

drolling Member

Bigtime Leslie junky here. Got spoiled on my little brother's vintage leslie cab, but he & his hammond have departed for the coast, so I've been making do w.sims.

H&K's the bomb, my opinion. Very convincing sound, beautiful tube distortion, brake function's a blast - but it's too noisy in front of my non master amps. Needs to be in an FX loop.

Haven't played the Option5, but I've read that it's not as good w/overdriven tones as the Hughes & Kettner. As a guitarist, I need the dirty sounds. I've got an old Korg G4 and I only use the drive side. Same with my rackmount DigiTech RPM-1, I've always got the master volume cranked, so the tube's working hard - It's on the noisy side too, but sounds astonishing when running the horns in stereo and the rotor thru' a third (bass) amp up the middle..

4. Phil M

Phil M Supporting Member

I certainly haven't tried them all, including the Option 5, but the H&K sounds GREAT. I wish I still had mine.

5. exodus

exodus Member

I have not tried the HK, although I was at a small show where the guitar player was using one. On the other hand, I have owned an Option 5 and really didn't like it. It sounded horrible with any sort of gain into it.

6. alguit

alguit Guest

I've owned both, and as much as I liked the H&K, I gave it away and kept the Destination Rotation. It just did everything the Rotosphere did but better.