ordering a custom neck from warmoth - comments?

adrianb

I'd like to make a major change to my stratocaster and i've decided on getting a custom neck from Warmoth. It's going to be modern construction, big CBS headstock, all maple, the "default" Warmoth options - but it's going to be full scallop, SS6100 frets, and with clear satin nitro finish. I essentially want an Yngwie-style neck.

Has anybody else ever ordered a neck with this configuration from Warmoth before? How was the finished product? I've never done business with Warmoth before, is there anything i should know before i pull the trigger? It's also kinda pricey at $400, are there alternative companies that offer comparable quality at a lower price?

All comments would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

HTSMetal

Haven't bought a neck with those particular specs from Warmoth, but all of the Strat and Tele necks I've purchased from them over the years have left me floored with the quality to price ratio. Even the cheaper Showcase examples I've bought usually have thick, dense, poreless Indian Rosewood fretboards and flame within the maple (more noticeable if you finish it yourself with something like Tru-Oil that brings the chatoyance out).

The real added cost with Warmoth comes with the finishing options, but if you're comfortable with doing a Tru-Oil finish (and potentially voiding the two year warranty, there are conflicting reports about whether Tru-Oil is considered a warranty-correct finish or not) it'll save you major money and feel nicer as well!

Couple of close ups:

Clear gloss finish:

Rosewood Tele fretboard:

adrianb