Origin Cali 76 vs. Keeley Compressor Pro

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by CBeeper, May 12, 2015.

1. CBeeper

CBeeper Supporting Member

Has anyone tried these two pedals? Are they in the same class?

2. muletrane

muletrane Supporting Member

3. ObsessedGuitarist

ObsessedGuitarist Member

Just to keep this thread going, because I would like to hear what users have to say. I borrowed a bunch of compressors from my best friend while he is in EP production mode and I ended up liking the Empress over the Keeley 4 knob, but mainly because of the additional feature set. Even though I have been using the Empress for almost two years now, I know I'll have to give it back soon. The Cali 76 is pretty much considered the gold standard for pedal compressors, so I've got to assume that is what Keeley is after, especially considering the price point. Otherwise, I'll get a new Empress when I have to. FWIW.

4. PurpleJesus

PurpleJesus Gold Supporting Member Silver Supporting Member

If you're doing a high-end compressor comparison I'd add in the Effectrode PC-2A.

5. me_alex

me_alex Member

I'm interested in this as well'.

6. Jupiter Tarts

Jupiter Tarts Member

I'd like to just throw out that I feel a Bogner Harlow can roll with the Cali 76 as another compressor option. Probably my favorite pedal on my board aside from my Ditto X2

7. 0xeneye

0xeneye Supporting Member

I thought the keeley was a Ross/Dynacomp circuit with fixed compression.

The Origin I thought is an 1176 clone in pedal format.

8. zosozep7

zosozep7 Gold Supporting Member

Are you referring to the new Keeley Pro?

9. jubal81

jubal81 Member

The Cali76 is FET based and the Keeley Pro uses a THAT Corp. chip, so they're very different inside. Both are studio grade, but one is 'Classic' and the other more modern.

I'd really like to get my hands on a Keeley Pro to compare against my Cali.

10. ObsessedGuitarist

ObsessedGuitarist Member