1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

OT: Short vs Speaker load

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by Nolatone Ampworks, Jan 4, 2008.

1. Nolatone Ampworks

Nolatone Ampworks Silver Supporting Member

Hi folks,

I'm studying a Bassman AB165 circuit and have arrived at a question about how the output transformer works.

The main speaker output jack has a different type of jack which has an additional contact that seperates from tip lead on the jack when the speaker cable is plugged in.

So, how I see it based on the schematic, the OT output sees the speaker impedence as the load when a speaker is plugged in (assuming there is a speaker on the other end of the speaker cable!), but according to how I'm reading the schematic, one lead of the the output winding is connected straight to ground if the speaker is NOT plugged in.

So, 0 ohms vs <speaker load> ohms at the output.

There is a lot of discussion as to whether or not mismatched output loads can harm the OT.

I'd like to understand why having NO speaker cable connected doesn't harm the OT. Or does it if one were to try to play with no speaker connected? I've always been carefull not to run an amp with no speaker connected, but I am presuming that since the jack has that ground disconnect element built in that, that is some sort of safety feature.

Please clarify this.

Thanks,

Paul

2. rockon1

rockon1 Member

Im sure some one will be along who understands this however I know my Rivera shorts the speaker connections together if nothing is plugged into the amp (0 ohms) as a "safety" feature. This is harder on the tubes but much safer for the output transformer- something about preventing "flyback" voltage from damaging the OT with no load/speaker connected I believe. Bob

3. soulsonic

soulsonic Member