OT: sonic youth.

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by stephen_b, Aug 10, 2008.

1. stephen_b

stephen_b Member

So... i started playing with this band, and i like them, but they say they're WAY influenced by SY, and somehow, they were not on my radar at all. where do i start, what's their best stuff... what are some other bands that go well with sonic youth?

by the by... i'm not some kid that is too young for them, they simply just never crossed my path! just out of curiosity, are there any band that are huge that are up your alley, that you might have just didn't get in to?

2. jammybastard

jammybastard "I'm losing my edge, but I was there..."

Start with Daydream Nation.

[​IMG]

BTW - if they are influenced by SY then you better get hip to open tunings and feedback. Good times.

3. stephen_b

stephen_b Member

heh... its all feedback... not that there's anything wrong with that, thats what they told me they wanted me to do! from practice 1, "can you make a bunch of feedback?"

it all makes sense now.

personally, i want to make loud noise, but i want it to be more formatted that just to be feedback.

4. orange worker

orange worker Supporting Member

listen to "The Diamond Sea"

5. Lolaviola

Lolaviola Supporting Member

The Evol album is more agressive w/out reverting to feedback.
    The Goo album is great, very much a classic, with better songwriting.

FWIW the "Daydream Nation" album bores the pants off me. If that's all they're into, better move on.

6. Mike P

Mike P Member

Evol and Sister are my favorites. I agree that they're aggressive without excessive feedback. You may also want to listen to some My Bloody Valentine. Good Luck

7. mild

mild Member

In an interview, Thurston Moore said that the excessive feedback was born early in their careers as a necessity - they'd use the feedback to mask them whilst retuning.