Ovation - Current production model quality?

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by maradona86, Feb 4, 2015.

1. maradona86

maradona86 Member

Are the new production models a consistently quality product? I'm looking at their Celebrity and their Celebrity Elite plus models and are wondering what your experiences are with them as they are a bit hard to stumble across in my area. I know they are not Prewar Martins and all that....I'm an electric player by trade so to me, these feel and play fine. I owned a Celebrity Deluxe about a decade ago and it was a nice axe. Only got rid of it to fund an electric purchase. All the searching I've done on their fanpage seems to show their fanbase is all butthurt over the fact that they were sold to FMIC and then offloaded to DW.

I'm looking for a nice stage guitar that also records well in the studio; these have that. The soundslips on youtube sound decent enough for sure.
    What say you guys/gals out there?
    Thanks in advance.

2. kevmin

kevmin Supporting Member

I suggest looking for a used Legend from the 80's. Those were super nice and probably pretty cheap now.

3. kevmin

kevmin Supporting Member

4. hunter

hunter Supporting Member

I assume you mean recent production. There are no new production Ovations. My understanding is they are gone, the factory guys sent home.

hunter

5. bluwoodsman

bluwoodsman Member

Unless something happened very recently, they are still very much in production!

The USA models have shrunk greatly though. I think only the high $$ adamas line is made here in the states.

I picked up a CC48 PD last year--korean made. Like a lot of eastern guitars these days, I think it's pretty well made for the price. I have fiddled with the set up a bit but it plays nice up and down the neck. Plays faster than the average acoustic. I don't have a decent acoustic amp to play it through yet so can't give a good report on the pick up. But they generally have a good rep.