Overdrive/Distortion Box help/suggestions?

Mike Thomas

Hi, I know there are what seems like millions of overdrive and distortion effects out there but I was wondering if based on the following some of you might have some ideas you could please suggest.

I just started playing with a group of guys again. We mostly play original Alternative rock songs that I have written that in a way sound a bit like Weezer and The Foo Fighters. Just good catchy melodic rock that mostly features distorted guitars.

Currently I was forced to move a few things not too long ago,so the only amp that I have has been my main rig I've had for a really long time. It is an all original 1962 brown face Fender piggy back head and matching 2x12 cab. The amp sounds amazing but with a rating roughly 38 to 40 for wattage,it definitely is more of a clean headroom amp to use pedals with. Depending on power tubes, with the loud rock band I'm playing in right now, I can't even put it past 4 before the guys in the band start telling me to turn it down. The thing is loud. So getting those golden tones of natural breakup by cranking it,is out of there question. So I have to use a good pedal.

I've owned so many overdrives and distortion boxes over the years I don't even know where to begin. I like a lot of gain,but along with a lot of gain I like for the individual notes to be able to ring out and still be somewhat heard. I know that most of the bands I like usually get their overdrive tones from a multi-channel amp,such as a duel or triple rec mesa or a diesel. Or in some cases in the studio they will crank of course a low wattage amp. Because I am stuck with what I have for right now as far as my amp is concerned,plus because I like it,I of course have to run some kind of pedal if i want to get some good overdriven tones with the band.