Overdrive Pedals and SS Amps

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Ikaros, Jan 25, 2006.

1. Ikaros

Ikaros Guest

I know all the tube amp people will discourage this but can I get opinions form people actually using solid state amps instead? Since I'm a home hobby guitarist, I'm stuck with using a 15 watt solid state practice amp because I can't blast out the neighbors or my family. I'm a using the Marshall MG series amp with my Fender Stratocaster.

I don't care that they sound better with a tube amp, thats a given. I want to now how much of a tube amp simulated overdrive tone you can get with an overdrive pedal and SS amp.

So here is my question for solid state amp users: Have you used any overdrive pedals with your SS amp? If so how are the results for you?

Also, post your SS amp model, overdrive pedal, and guitar pickup type that you use. If you have any sound samples of the tone you get, it would be helpful if you can link a sound clip to listen to. If you do get a nice tone with your overdrive/ss amp combo please post your tone settings as well so others like myself can duplicate the sound you get.

Thanks....

2. rabbit

rabbit Member

At the moment I just have a 15watt solid state practice amp at home since my rig is in the band´s rehearsal room and I´m still on the quest for a decent small tube amp. So a similar situation to your´s I think.

I really get nice low gain od tone with my Red Snapper into this amp. I recommend using a (quality) od/dist into the clean channel of your amp, I´d rather not mud up the SS od channel mud any further :) . Depends on the clean channel of your amp as well.
    I also recommend to set the gain and volume fairly low since you won´t be able to really push your amp into nice "tubey" overdrive anyways.

The results I get are ok but nothing in comparison to using a real tube amp and an overdrive pedal.

3. LouRossi

LouRossi Member