Overlooked Tone Factors?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Passenger84, Feb 18, 2008.

1. Passenger84

Passenger84 Supporting Member

I was just thinking about some of the factors for tone that I have overlooked in the past and how important they have ended up being. Some of them I thought were little things and turned out making a bigger difference than a new guitar or a new amp. Of course, I'm still learning and next year I might hate all my own opinions, but for what it's worth, the main ones for me are:

--Changing strings!!
    What a world of difference when I change my strings every week. Makes my rig sound brand new. To my ears, a bigger difference than my favorite boost pedal.

--Speaker efficiency
    It seems to me that speakers really need to be pushed to sound good. A pushed speaker seems to have an almost tube-like quality...again, maybe it's just me. But matching speakers to amps has made an enormous difference in tone for me.

--No cold solder joints
    Self-explanatory, but wow, that can make your tone go south in a hurry.

--Using overdrive pedals to your amp into overdriven tones...not as magical amps in boxes.
    This one was huge for me. If I don't like the sound of my amp's natural overdrive, I'm never going to be happy with any overdrive pedal. The trick for me is finding the ones that let my amp sing instead of adding to much out of their own circuitry...and then finding a few with some different tonal characteristics.

--And of course, running the Tim at 12 volts. :)

Anyone got any more finds??

2. tybone

tybone Member

Use the tone controls on your guitar.

Most guitars have at least one and the really nice ones can have 2 or more. They should be used when ever you want to warm up the tone or add some brightness. They really work well as long as your amp is setup to be as bright as you need to be. I usually run the tone controls on my leas paul around 5-7 on the bridge and wide open on the neck.