P.A., Mixing Old And New Technology?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by hogy, Jan 30, 2019.

1. hogy

hogy Member

I'm very new at dealing with P.A. systems. I know plenty about tube guitar amps, but have never had the need to run my own P.A., until now.

Our band plays Blues and some R&B. We have a female singer, the bass player (another lady) sings backup, we have an organ player who sings a few songs.

That's three mics. Then we also mic the bass drum. Occasionally there may be a fifth mic for harmonica, and that's it.

So the basic needs are pretty simple, a maximum of six channels will do.

I bought three Yamaha DXR 10 speakers, one of them being the stage monitor. Now I need a mixer.

I am a bit of a vintage nut, and I have this 1960s Binson PE 602-6 six channel tube preamp/mixer sitting around that I've never used. Binson used a type of vinyl insulated wire that completely broke down with the years. Basically it turned to dust and just crumbled away. I would have to completely rebuild and rewire the whole thing to make it usable. That is not a problem per se, I'm a repair guy. But it will take me a couple of days.

So now I'm wondering if this is worth doing. Will the old tube mixer pair up well with the powered Class D Yamaha speakers? Or should I just buy a cheap modern mixer and call it a day?

I can't help but imagine that vocals, and especially harp would sound great through that old tube preamp, especially for the music we're doing..

Any comments from the experts?

2. Crowder

Crowder Dang Twangler Silver Supporting Member

Yes.

pbmw, B Money and HoboMan like this.
  3. Luke V

Luke V Member

The new digital stuff makes things much easier to set up and run than old school stuff, and it is pretty darn inexpensive. I have a Behringer Xair 18 and love it.

HoboMan likes this.
  4. Terry McInturff

Terry McInturff 40th Anniversary of guitar building! Gold Supporting Member