P90s: 2 or 3 of them in a guitar?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Jim S, Jun 21, 2006.

1. Jim S

Jim S Silver Supporting Member Supporting Member

I'm thinking of ordering a Tele-body style guitar with P90s, either 2 or 3. (Probably redwood top on alder; bolt on neck;a maple or rosewood fingerboard.) I still might opt for two humbuckers.

If I get 3 P90s, will I get decent in-between strat position 2 & 4 sounds or something different and remote from that tone? Is it 'overkill' and should I just go with two P90s?

I have limited experience with P90 guitars: my Les Paul '54 Custom Reissue is the only one. I had a recent Gibson LP special with 2 P100s and that was lame and I sold it.

Thanks!

2. AaeCee

AaeCee Member

IMO, of course...DEFINITELY 2! That middle position is the sweetest and by far my favorite, and can't be had with 3 pups...unless someone knows some wiring wizardry to get there. So those stratty 2 and 4 positions be dammed...2 P-90s middle position rules! AC

3. Macaroni

Macaroni Member

I just got a new 3 x P90 guitar, and it can easily be wired to get 7 tones - the 5 classic positions, plus neck + bridge, and all 3 together. You just wire the tone control as a push/pull, which when pulled up, engages the neck pickup, when you are on the bridge position or the bridge + middle. Lots of people do this with their Strats too. The inbetween positions are similar to a Strat and very useful.

You can have it all! ;)

4. floobeedust

floobeedust Member

Check out an extraordinary guitar a Yamaha TVL signature model which is a 335 style with 3 P90's and the toggle switching option. Very well made guitar with top shelf killer tones....blues freaks will wet their pants.

5. Eric Pykala

Eric Pykala Member

Hey Splatt, where did you find the chrome P90 covers? sorry to derail, but I've been looking...-Eric

6. gtrplayer23

gtrplayer23 Member

:drool:drool:drool:drool:drool:drool:drool

7. zappafrank

zappafrank Member