• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Palm muting w/Floyd - more sensitive to position/technique?

brewhound

I just got a guitar with a Floyd. I started playing a few years ago and I have two other guitars - one with a TOM and one with a vintage-style trem. On my other guitars I can easily get palm mute sounds I'm happy with without worrying too much about where my hand is.

On the Floyd guitar, though, there seems to be only a very small area right over the bridge where I can mute without killing the tone entirely. Maybe I've just developed sloppy technique and this will be good for me, but I was wondering if this is common or if it could be due to setup issues.

jazzandmetal?

Silver Supporting Member
Pitch can change since Floyds can be more touchy. But what you are saying seems you just need to move your hand back a touch on the bridge.

brewhound

It's not a pitch change so much as it gets excessively muted if I'm not right over the bridge. Goes to more of a dull "click" than the punchy "thump" I'm expecting, if you know what I mean.

jazzandmetal?

Silver Supporting Member
It's not a pitch change so much as it gets excessively muted if I'm not right over the bridge. Goes to more of a dull "click" than the punchy "thump" I'm expecting, if you know what I mean.
Sounds like your hand is too forward on the bridge. Move it back a little.

bullet69