Partial volume loss from speaker possible?

xtian

Gold Supporting Member
My main cab is a 2x12 with one Eminence Man-o-War and one Eminence Texas Heat. Similar sensitivity (101.6 vs 100.2 dB). 230 watts total power handling. I've been playing this cabinet for several years.

Recently went to play, quietly at home, and noticed the sound now seems shifted away from the center, toward the Man-o-war. It's definitely louder than the Texas Heat now.

Is it possible to damage a speaker mildly, so it shows a reduction in volume but no other ill effects? I hear no rubbing, distortion or fizz.

elijah

As mentioned alnicos can lose magnetism when dropped or impacted, as well other ways.
A ceramic magnet doesn't do that, however anything is possible.
Double check the mounting bolts. They don't have to be extremely tight, but if they are loose, j it can definitely affect volume and tone.
There also could be something with the volume level you were playing at, that is magnifying some anomaly.
The efficiency rating is only @1watt. It doesn't necessarily apply linear to the whole power range the speaker is capable of.

rockon1

Platinum Supporting Member
Sure its not your ears? Seriously. A while back listening to my stereo I noticed the left speaker was always louder even though I was perfectly centered. Took a while (after I realized every stereo's left speaker was louder) that I figured out it was my right ear at fault! Probably due to guitar playing and always having my right ear towards the amp! eek! Bob

Try this:

Detach the good speaker. If you have a db meter or software on you phone, take a reading and see if it is indeed giving you less output as compared to the other speaker.