PayPal 1099-K taxable income?!

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by Jason Calieri, Feb 6, 2018.

1. Jason Calieri

Jason Calieri Silver Supporting Member

Apparently PayPal is sending a 1099-K to anyone in MA and VT who received over $600. Until late last year, the cut off was $20k.

All of the funds I received during 2017 were from selling used music gear that I’d bought not long before. So how can this be taxable income?! Anyone else had to sort this out?

2. Riscchip

Riscchip Supporting Member

This happened to my brother (in MA) today and I read up a bunch. I'm not an expert, but it seems they are making PayPal send the 1099-K out presuming money taken in through PayPal is income. Then, you have to use schedule C to prove otherwise. So if you buy a guitar for $1000 and sell it for $1000, you didn't make a profit so you theoretically shouldn't owe tax, but now you have to lay that out for them. I'm sure they assume people will be bad about doing this in many cases and they'll collect more tax. If you did earn a profit on anything you sold and received payment on via PayPal, that's a profit and is taxable in the first place.

This is my non-expert, potentially wrong take that I think is reasonably correct.

3. Jason Calieri

It’s crazy to expect people to dig up old transactions and prove it’s not income. Ugh! What a nightmare. I might be done with PayPal.

4. Jay K

Jay K Member