Pcad's Guitar Idiot Getaway in Naples, FL

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by patentcad, Jan 29, 2012.

1. patentcad

patentcad Member

I consider myself to be a complete and utter guitar idiot, and few here would argue with that. I flew to see my dear old HS pal Az down in Fort Meyers, FL this weekend, which in addition to a nice break from the NY cold also turned out to be a total guitarfest. Az (John) is an oil futures trader by profession (self employed, he once worked on Wall Street doing that for a large brokerage) but his first love is music, and he has been in numerous small time bands from NY City down to Florida for 20+ years (he's in one now called the Ex-Bachelors in Naples, FL). So he has a lot of saddle time playing in front of and with other people. Az has kind of mentored me in my recent re-entry into guitars after a 10 year hiatus, which has been great.

So this weekend we:

• Played and jammed together the first night.

• Az showed me some cool rhythm guitar basics the second day and we started recording a cover version of S. Robinson's Motown classic 'Really Got a Hold On Me' that I had been working up for the local open mic night.

• Today on day three his lead singer showed up, we all got to jam on the guitar for an hour and then Cary (said singer) laid down backing vocal tracks on the digital recording Az had done for me. Az also laid down a bass track.