Peavey Classic 50 vs. Fender Hot Rod Deville

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Miles, Sep 27, 2006.

1. Miles

Miles Member

Your opinions?

I have two classic combos, the 4x10 and the 1x12 C30. I am a musician who is done with expensive amps as I like affordable gear that gets the job done. I have decided not to look at a Crate V-series for now, and I like a warmer huskier overdrive. I also never use anything on the floor as I like to plug straight in. I'm well aware that I prefer the sound of the Peavey classic over the Hot Rod, but I'm considering getting another combo that I like. The Peavey, Crate, and Fender all have solid clean channels in my opinion, but I would like to hear your experiences with the Fender Hot rod deville or deluxe.

Thanks.

2. Miles

Miles Member

3. Sparky6string

Sparky6string Member

Paging Tag... :p

I sure like my HRDx, had it for 6 years. I've done tube changes, swapped speakers etc (all for fun and experimentation). I like the stock speaker quite a bit actually and that's what's in there now.

My old drummer loved that amp more than any other, and I would get compliments on the tone often. I like to use a distortion pedal with it, but theres more to the drive channels than most think. You can turn the master way up and use the drive knob as your volume, or tweak them both til you're happy. The clean is as good as I've ever heard, very 3D. I mainly use humbuckers with mine but I know a lot of Tele players like them too. Chimey, chimey cleans with big bottom. Plenty of volume too.

Lots of pros use them, and I see a lot of them used in Indie rock. The rhythm guitarist in my band just bought one yesterday too. Tonight we'll get together for the first time with two HRDxs. A lot is made of reliability with them but I believe it's only because there are so many of them out there. I've never had a single problem with mine.