peavey XXX problem

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by bob1231, Oct 25, 2005.

1. bob1231

bob1231 Guest

Hey all.

I've got a problem with my peavey xxx 40 watt combo. I recently got it used about 2 weeks ago, and at first it worked great. Then i had a problem with the volume dropping down, then going back up, then down again, etc. This would only happen sometimes but the problem kept occuring more frequently and now the amp does not work at all. The lights all come on, but there is no sound at all coming from the speaker. Ive done basic things like check speaker and guitar connections. I think all the tubes are fine, they all light up with a dull orange glow, however one preamp tube seems dimmer than the rest, dont know if thats the problem though.

This is my first tube amp, so i have no experience with these things. Sorry if i make no sense. Could anyone give suggestions on what to do? thanks

2. bob-i

bob-i Member

Here's what I'd do.

Check that all the tubes are seated completley in the sockets. Pull them out one at a time, clean the pins with alcohol and reinsert them, making sure that they go all the way in. Be careful to insert them correctly. The small tube have a gap between pins 1 and 9, line it up with the gap in the socket. The large tubes have a key in the center, line it up with the key in the socket.

Clean all the jacks, even the unused ones, especally the unused ones. I wouldn't recomend that you open the amp up because the voltages in there, even unplugged, could hurt you, even kill you. I clean jacks with contact cleaner from Radio Shaft. Spray onto the metal inside the hole, then put a plug in and out a few times and spray again, just a few drops each time.