Pedal Board Direct Into PA Help.

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by dickster7000, Apr 16, 2016.

1. dickster7000

dickster7000 Member

I'm still a bit new to this whole pedal board deal. I'm having trouble getting a good overdrive sound directly into PA. I've got a few other questions on top of that. I'll give you my specs below.

My axe of choice is an Epiphone Les Paul I brought home from my tour in Korea.
    Seymour Duncan Pearly Gates pups.
    Pedal board powered by T-Rex Chameleon.
    All into a Radial J48.

Heres the main OD issue: I have two Centaur clones- the Soul Food and BYOC Silver Pony. I use the Silver Pony as my light OD option and its fantastic. I love it. I use the Soul Food as a heavier OD but its generating way more fuzz than I care for. Turning the drive down too low results in it sounding exactly like the Silver Pony (duh, I know, they're clones of the same thing). For a replacement my eyes are on the Prince of Tone, or the Sweet Honey. Any other suggestions (besides the Tube Screamer)? Understand that I'm not trying to Metal my guitar. I know the pups aren't made for that. I'm just looking for a heavier OD option that sounds good past the 12 o' clock position.

OR maybe the reason I'm sounding like mud is because I'm not plugged into an amp and mic'd to the PA? I was sure my J48 takes care of that problem. It only sounds like mud when the Soul Food is engaged. But if my DI isn't the full fix, is getting an amp simulator a better option? Say a Tech 21 or Joyo? I know an amp is preferred but I choose the pedal board as a more mobile option than lugging around my fat Marshall twin cab.

Last question: I'm also looking for a good solid distortion pedal for when I go with my old Ibanez from the 80s. This one I AM trying to Metal up. Rain the suggestions.

I know its lots of words but I've tried to cover all bases. Any input is welcome. Thank you for your time.

2. DaveKS

DaveKS Member