pedal order help

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by sandman, Aug 14, 2005.

1. sandman

sandman Member

I've just started creating my pedalboard after 4 years of not playing at all.....so I'm a beginner stopmboxwise.

mu pedals are

Boss TU-2,DD-3,CS-3,OD-2,CE-3(sometimes, borrowed) and Crybaby Classic w/fasel

When i put the Crybaby before the OD-2 everything sounds bad and mushy.No matter

if pedals are on or off.With Crybaby put after the OD everything sounds good but i get a

noticable volume jump when turning on the wah.

I tried to fix this with CS-3 put after the wah.This way wah sounds a bit QUIETER when turned on.Also,

i lose some amount of gain and generally disappear in the mix.

what's the problem? is it Boss OD-2 buffer? Crybaby's "true bypass"(or however they call it)?

Solutions?

like i mentioned i just started creating my pedalboard and I'm saving money for some decent OD,Dist,Fuzz boxes.

I'm currently considering Visual Sound J&H.Will this problems disappear if i replace OD-2 with J&H?

2. sandman

sandman Member

I play a 1979 strat and a Squier P90 tele custom through
    UL Twin with JBLs

3. stratofied

stratofied Member

Not sure what's going on with your set up but I usually place a wah pedal first or close to.

4. sandman

sandman Member

yeah, I know.

but I HAVE TO put the OD before the wah unless I want everything to sound really bad overall, blurry.

I put mu tuner first,then OD,WAH,COMP,CHORUS,DELAY

5. somedude

somedude Member

I'd go Comp, wah, OD, chorus, delay myself.

I can't help you on your wah situation though, but I can tell you that it's not true bypass....it's buffered. The newer Dunlop buffers don't suck as bad as the old ones, but they're still not great.

6. blueprint

blueprint Member

For my own part, I would put the comp first.
    Then, either OD or wah (try both order), then chorus and finally delay.