Pedal(s) for the tapping guitarist at reasonable volumes...

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by TNJ, Feb 24, 2008.

1. TNJ

TNJ Gold Supporting Member

I'm new to this tapping thing...the rock band I recently hooked up with does some material (Randy era Ozzy, EVH). So, I'm stretching myself a bit. Problem is, I need MORE volume or compression or boost or something to make the tapped notes stand out as much as my plucked solo notes.
    How do you seasoned tappers out there accomplish that without cranking the volume to an insane level? I'm thinking either a good compressor, or maybe some kind of a boost. Or maybe an OD pedal? I am using the amp's overdrive channel only (Shiva) for my lead chores.
    What would you suggest?

S.
    j

2. mgarrison99

mgarrison99 Silver Supporting Member

Try a Soul Preacher. They are cheap (cheaper on the bay), and will bring your tapped notes to the front.

If you are looking for a combo comp/OD, try t he CMATMODS Signa Comp Drive. I have the Signa Drive and love it. You could use that for the body of the song and then kick in the comp for the solo to bring more definition to your notes.

[​IMG]

Good luck

3. TNJ

I'll look into the SP.
    I also dug into my pedal pile at home this morning, and experimented.
    Rig setup: LP->Fulltone OCD->Keeley Time Machine Boost(set on Vintage '66)->Heritage Patriot 212. I adjusted the overall volumes where I wanted them with both amp and boost pedal. Works really nicely...the low end is preserved well with the Time Machine.

Next step is to try just this boost with the Shiva alone.

Any other boost/od pedals out there that work for you?

S.
    j

4. enditol

enditol Member

If you're new to the technique you don't need a pedal, you need to work on the technique with your hands. You shouldn't need a pedal to articulate clearly with tapping as opposed to any other tehnique.

5. TNJ

Well,
    I have a fairly hard pick attack when soloing.