Pedal Steel Question before purchase

lpfella

Hi, I am a novice who wants to buy a pedal steel. I know little but have read a bit here and there. I found one that I am interested in buying but not sure what to think of this being a good beginner model that will allow growth with the instrument. I mean, I know Shobud is good stuff but any insight on this particular one, based on the picture?

Thanks

steve13281

I'm not an expert but that looks like a Sho-bud maverick which is the starter model. the common consensus is that while these have a good tone your better of buying a better model for a few hundred more. When I started out I almost bought one but I read the steel guitar forums and was convinced to buy a Sho-bud Pro 1 which is an awesome guitar. Here is a link to a discussion about this instrument from the steel guitar forum-
http://bb.steelguitarforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=201451&sid=b2ad1ce0827e3abfda437f9e50eaefa3
The steel guitar forum is a great place with lots of useful info, check it out and good luck with your purchase.

lpfella

Ah yes, I think I have read much of the same but wasn't recalling exactly. Thanks for the input.

Hwy14

There some great companies building very reasonable new steels. There are so many things that could be wrong with an old shobud if it wasn't maintained. I would go to the steel guitar forum and do a little research.

Jon C

Silver Supporting Member
IMO ... A Zumsteel Stage One is a great first steel. After a lot of research that's what I did and it continues to impress.

I would take that over a used steel with who knows what issues any day. They're damn hard to play, you don't want to be fighting your instrument.

kenneth

Awesome, I am kinda jealous. I totally got hooked when I heard the work that Greg Leisz did with Matthew Sweet, and then of course all the other work he did before and after. Totally awesome.

But, I have my hands full with 6 strings and distortion pedals!