Pedalboard "chain" cables

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Medic162, Jan 5, 2006.

1. Medic162

Medic162 Member

OK, I know you're getting bored with all of my pedalboard questions, but like I tol' ya, I'm new at this. So, here goes it: After I get the pedals mounted down on the board, is there a "reason" to go with stuff like "George L's", etc??? What I've run into is that the pedals don't exactly line up with the "precut" stuff from the store, i.e. always 6 or 12 inch lengths. Also, I guess a benefit is going to be right angled plugs versus straight ones??? Anything else I need to know, like - the best place to get this stuff. As always, thanks for entertaining my endless questions. Blue Skies... Brian

2. Madsman

Madsman Member

Yeah, the decision is pretty simple.

If you know how to, and are comfortable with soldering, you make your own cables, using your preferred ends (I like the Neutrik right angle ends, though they're pretty chunky. Many prefer Switchcraft right angles for this reason) and your preferred cable (I'm using Mogami. Honestly, I don't hear a real difference between the stuff I have and George L's). You do this because well made soldered cables are less likely to crap out on you.

If you are not comfortable with soldering, or don't have the patience to make your own cables, you go with George L's or Planet Waves for the custom lengths you want. You buy a bunch of wire and a bunch of ends and make them yourself. It's pretty painless. You want to use right angles whereever possible, to conserve pedalboard space.

I think most of us go one of those 2 routes, rather than store-bought, as they're both cheaper than paying retail for pre-made pedalboard cables. Good ends will cost between $1.50 and $4.50 a pop depending on what you want and the quantity you buy.