Pedalboard vs. Multi-effect

Zemaitisguitar

Gold Supporting Member
I'm leaning toward a multi-effect. My pedal board has gotten out of control. Helix seems very sweet. I'm not a huge programmer and hate messing around with stuff. I like to plug and play. Helix is also expensive, not out of the question. Is the programming easier than people say (even though they say its pretty easy). Is there a unit in the $500-700 range that could fit the bill? I play in a classic rock covers band, small to medium size bars. Currently using a JCM 9000 but was thinking of plugging straight in to PA. thanks for the help.

porcytree

Hi there Z

If it's ease of use in a Multi FX pedal you're after then look no further than the Boss ME80.
Loads of FX on it, ingenious "double pedal" system for switching fx on and off, just reach down and dial on the fly (no menu surfing) and works really well into the front or into the fx return of a tube amp.

It would also serve you well as "fx only" in the loop of your amp (and you could simply use a couple of your fave OD/DS stomps or your amps gain channel for your dirt).

Never used mine direct to PA ( not a gigging guy ) but for direct recording etc the Amp sims are pretty good ( doubt most audience members would notice too much of difference at gig volumes ).

rsm

If you're planning to go direct to FRFR/PA, then the FX8 isn't a fit, and the Boss GT-100 would be better direct than the ME-80 IMO.

Helix or AX8 are probably the best options IMO.

FWIW I used a Boss GT-100 and I'm downsizing to a Boss GT-1; so far so good, but the GT-1 doesn't have a manual / pedal board mode, and you will need to get into programming assigns and maybe add an external footswitch such as an FS-7 to approximate a pedalboard.

-Empire

Silver Supporting Member
Is there a unit in the $500-700 range that could fit the bill? I play in a classic rock covers band, small to medium size bars. Currently using a JCM 900