1. A proposal is now up as a poll to change the guidelines of TGP to only allow member self-deleting of post/threads for up to thirty days of the original posting it. We are now watching the poll here. Click here to view the thread.

Dismiss Notice

Pedals with EL84 amp

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by wildogs, May 15, 2011.

1. wildogs

wildogs Member

I've been trying a number of pedals for a boost for leads with an EL84 based amp. I'm new to the EL84 scene, and really like it for a lot of things. However, being able to kick it into a thicker lead tone would be nice. I've tried an Analogman tube screamer, SD9, COT, RC/AC Booster, and cannot wring out a totally satisfying lead tone. I haven't had this difficulty with any EL34, 6L6, 6V6 based amps.

It may be the nature of the beast, but if anyone has luck with something let me know. I should mention its a Vox clone type.

Last edited: May 15, 2011
  2. Zero G

Zero G Member

I've had really good results with my Classic 30 using a stock Boss SD-1. Turn the gain all the way off and turn the volume up.

3. ChocoB

ChocoB Member

I liked what the Fulltone Fulldrive did for my C30.

4. Zero G

Zero G Member

Is that the Mosfet version?

5. TChen

TChen Member

i'll be the first to say it here, but im sure you'll hear it a lot more: CROWTHER HOTCAKE...

perfect match for EL84 amps. it can be real transparent if you want, or made to sound thicker like you say.

6. grateful.ed

grateful.ed Member

See you, and raise you. Double Hotcake.

It use it as low gain/high gain/fuzz/clean boost....my fave pedal

7. Xlch721

Xlch721 Member

Have you tried a Treble Booster/ Range Master clone ? Works very well with my 18 watt Marshall Clones. When I was first told about trying this I thought no way but works for me. Its a cheap easy project if you know how to solder about 15 to 25 dollars.

8. JRBain

JRBain Member