Personal Q's on Axe Fx 2

Rock72

I have a few questions I hope you guys can help me with. I am seriously considering getting an Axe Fx 2. I do live in an appartment where volume is an issue in the evenings. I do not currently gig, but play guitar every day as an "escape" from the everyday stress. I know there are other options, and I have owned an 11R, pods, and currently have the Zoom G3. I do consider myself audiophile, and hence the Axe. So a few questions:

1. Learning curve: is it very steep? I am not a "computer nerd" but do usually get my head around stuff. I have no studio experience at all. How long did it take you normal guys to get a handle of the Axe and its possibilites?

2. My current set up includes boutique/high end stuff, amp and effect wise. Did for any of you the Axe replace that, or did you keepthat as well?

3. Do you miss the "feel" og playing a tube amp, or is this elusive "feel" more psychology than anything else, and the Axe met all you expectations to feel and sensitivity?

Thanks for your time sharing your thoughs with a pondering mind.

Scott Peterson

TGP Co-Founder and Administrator
Staff member
I have a few questions I hope you guys can help me with. I am seriously considering getting an Axe Fx 2. I do live in an appartment where volume is an issue in the evenings. I do not currently gig, but play guitar every day as an "escape" from the everyday stress. I know there are other options, and I have owned an 11R, pods, and currently have the Zoom G3. I do consider myself audiophile, and hence the Axe. So a few questions:

1. Learning curve: is it very steep? I am not a "computer nerd" but do usually get my head around stuff. I have no studio experience at all. How long did it take you normal guys to get a handle of the Axe and its possibilites?