Personal recording recommendations?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by trumpus, Nov 30, 2005.

1. trumpus

trumpus Supporting Member

Hey,

So i should preface this post by saying i have little to no knowledge of recording. My old band recorded a demo in a studio, but I had very little to do with the actual recording process. The only recording I have done myself, was using an old tascam analog 4 track to record my guitar (either direct or line out from my amp) and some vocals.

I am interested in finding an easy to use, somewhat inexpensive, portable way to lay down ideas. I don't play with a band anymore, so the only thing I would need it for would be to record either my acoustic guitar direct or a line out/mic of my amp, and 1 or 2 vocal tracks. I'd prefer something digital, and prefer a standalone unit, with the capability to input (via USB/Firewire) to my computer so that I could burn the tracks to a CD. I'm less inclined to get one of the USB/Firewire audio interfaces for the computer, in that i have no recording software or any experience with any, and for me, it seems like it would be more than i need.

Realistically, i want something that can sit on top of my amp, and i can hit record when i want to lay something down, or awith a little extra work, do some very rudimentary multitracking of guitar and a few vocal tracks. IF a system had some extra capabilities (like rhythm section tracks) and such, I wouldn't be opposed, but they aren't necessary.

Any suggestions for inexpensive solutions?

Thanks in advance!

Brian

2. trumpus

trumpus Supporting Member

I know, in general, that Zoom is probably not the best company to look to for this, but i guess what i am looking for is something like this:

Zoom PS-04

Does anyone have experience with something like this. Are there better versions or companies making a similar product that is better?