1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Pickups; where do I begin?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by drop2flat, Feb 15, 2009.

1. drop2flat

drop2flat Member

Hi, I'm somewhat new to the world of the guitar. I've been playing for about two years now, and I'm really getting into it. I've got a PRS SE singlecut, and love to play blues/rock. I occasionally dabble in the metal realm, but primarily I'm in search for the perfect "tone." I want to upgrade my pick-ups, because I heard a friend of mine play his $2200 strat through my amp, and let me tell you, it sounded much better than mine. I know I have humbuckers and he has single coil pickups, but I still feel like I can get a better tone out of my guitar and not get that muddy sound. What pick-ups do you recommend? Again, I'm mainly a blues player. Some artists I play are Eric Johnson, Elliott Smith, SRV, Creedence Clearwater Revival, lots of improv on the pentatonics, hendrix, the list goes on. I'd really appreciate your input because I don't know where to begin. Thanks.

2. Drifting

Drifting Member

Well first off, what kind of amp are you running through? What's your budget? You may want to get a new amp, depending on what you currently have, as the PRS SE pickups aren't bad, but aren't anything special either.(except for the soapbars, those are something else)