pickups:which,why?teach me

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by stairs, Sep 14, 2006.

1. stairs

stairs Member

well, here i go again. i have no experience with pickups. recently, after playing around with a cheap humbucker guitar, i realized there is more in tone than the strats. i have a G&L Custom, a true strat. i thought that i should go in this direction too, and search for that aggressive tone not only in dirt boxes but pickups too. i received this guitar from a friend from the States, it was kind of a trade, i had no clue of what is really about the sound, if it is a vintage or what. right now, i discovered that i need more. it is truly clean...BUT...i need more.

so, is there any possibility to change at least one of the pickups and put into it a "single coil sized humbucker."is there something like this?if yes, which one?
    i need more BITE, for sure, i want it more aggresive in musical way and FATTER. is this possible? i heard one of my friends over here saying that usualy for heavy things they use to use the bridge pickup. would it work if i only change that?

please, give me some directions: brands, links, sites, your experineces cause i am totaly out of it...anything to learn and get to the point of knowing which one will fit my needs

thanks

2. nashvillesteve

nashvillesteve Member

http://www.seymourduncan.com/products/strats.shtml

There are several on this page that are humbucking pickups that fit in single coil stratocaster setups without modification. Read the descriptions to find which one would suit you best. I believe there are several (if not many) other manufacturers that make this pickup, but Seymour Duncan is one of the biggies...

3. r9player

r9player Silver Supporting Member

4. Creamy

Creamy Member