PJ pup config vs "straight" P or J

Discussion in 'Bass Area; The Bottom Line' started by kangcore, Mar 20, 2008.

1. kangcore

kangcore Member

I'm a guitarist who plays bass in a friend's band, and it looks like its slowly becoming a more regular committment. Have been borrowing basses here and there, but am thinking of getting my own bass. I have an affinity for the J bass shape, and am probably looking at getting a partsobass made. Going for an ash/maple body, maple/rosewood neck, and onboard preamp (builder's personal make).

I've been considering my pickup options and am wondering what the difference between the PJ config and the straight J or P config is. Don't really know anyone with a PJ bass, but i've been reading that a PJ config might be more versatile?

I play mainly alternative/indierock, and at home i do demo recordings for song arrangements and such - same genre. Looking for a nice growly bass sound that cuts through and shakes the stage a bit live.

So bass gurus... i bow in deferment to your sage advice.

2. jony2

jony2 Member

Hey Marcus, I read this post before I realised it was you.

For Growl, you have to go for the J style pickup. You mentioned shaking as well. If it is anything to go by, the heaviest sounding P-bass sound you can hear are those on the Iron Maiden songs.

The PJ is very versatile, but if you want that full-on J style sound, it's not exactly there.

Have you posted this on talkbass? Potentially more answers.

3. slopeshoulder

slopeshoulder Senior Member

I've also read that there are "phase" issues witha PJ.
    I like to use a J with an amp that allows me to boost a bit at 400hz for that lower mid P-bass "authority." Try it!

4. alanbass1

alanbass1 Member

Going active I would plump for a J configuration. However, I do love the passive P bass sound

5. walterw

walterw Gold Supporting Member