played a burst, saw the light (pics inside)

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by smitty.west, Mar 25, 2015.

1. smitty.west

smitty.west Senior Member

last week i had the very rare privelage of getting to play a real 1959 les paul; a "burst".

i was in vegas for the week and decided to stop by cowtown guitars, a longtime favourite shop of mine. hadn't been there in a few years since before they moved locations so didn't know what to expect. i got to the shop which has the coolest vibe of any guitar shop i've been to and tried some awesome vintage axes (pre-cbs strats, jazzmasters, old gretsches, etc.). i then noticed what i thought was a really tastefully done r9 relic in a display case on the wall, but it turned out to be much more than a murphy relic or something of the like; it was a real deal 1959 les paul!

this is where the comedy of life came into play...

jesse at cowtown recognized me from my instagram and knew i was a photographer so a casual walk into a shop became much more. he needed some photos taken of the guitar so i told him i'd be back later that afternoon with my gear (which i happened to have) in order to shoot it.

when i got back i snapped some photos with what gear i had (unfortunately no lighting gear so just used available/natural light) and more importantly, got to plug in for a good while...

WOW

first off, this particular les paul has got to be the most beautiful example i've ever seen in my entire life. the burst is absolutely perfect. it's faded to a beautiful dirty lemonburst which i'm absolutely in love with. further, the flame and grain are flawless; exactly what i picture when i think of my dream burst.

then i picked it up and plugged it in...

let me preface this next bit by admitting that my ears might not be as tenured as some of the burst experts on here, but i'll give it a shot...

holy.crap.