played maton and breedlove quick review

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by neastguy, Jan 10, 2006.

1. neastguy

neastguy Supporting Member

ok, I'm not too good at reviewing, but I'll start with the Breedlove- ac25/sr... nice weight, looked to be put together well, and this one was set up nicely...apparently this shop I was at swapped out the nut with a bone one... anyhow, to me its a warm sounding guitar not brite and not too bassy...no buzzy frets that I could find and had nice abalone features....good player and looker.... they had it at 1k + tax out the door, but I believe I could of haggled a bit....anyhow nice guitar......

then I tried two Maton's- one I cant remember but they had it listed at 1400 and the other was Tommy Emanuel model at something like 2700... a lot of cashola.... anyhow my first impression was that they were very light guitars put together well, both nice lookers....I think the one had walnut sides....very pretty.... anyhow soundwise, to me, very "tin canny" punchy very little bass and very hollow sounding....dunno, maybe I'm not used to high end accoustics but I really was not digging them...the salesman kinda looked shocked when I said I prefer the sound of the Breedlove... I wish they had more than just one breedlove to try but that was it...I remember I found a breedlove sitting in a GC also and it was cheap, $600 and it sounded good to me also..... anyhow, its not much of a review.... but I would choose the Breedlove, the only reason though I didnt consider it is because I dont like the white binding on the neck of the guitar...if it was bindingless (lol) I would consider big time....... that is all!!!:RoCkIn

2. fuzzyratfarts

fuzzyratfarts Member

Hmm...I have played the super nice models from both Makers and I prefer the Matons...more percussive and responsive, and EXTREMELY comfy to play.

3. neastguy