• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Played my first (two) gigs where I couldn't mic my amp...

tele_jas

I've been playing since 1993, and this was the first time I've been in a situation where I couldn't mic my amp... And it was for two gigs.

I filled in with another band and was told "we have a PA".... Band was great, but PA was a 6 channel board and a couple of Mackie tops. The other guitar player had a Twin, and here I was with my Hayseed 30 (AC30 clone) trying to play clean and keep up. Luckily, he didn't like to crank his Twin above 4 (still loud).

It felt really weird and really hope I don't have to do that again. I can only imagine how it sounded out front with two guitar players battling against each other all night.

Just sayin'

boldaslove1977

Gold Supporting Member
it's not fun, is it?

we play several places where we don't mic anything... partly because the places are small... partly because we don't have the gear to do it the right way. it drives me NUTS.

i'm not the boss... if i was... we'd never play unmic'd.

usually it's because we're in a smaller venue. which means we're right on top of each other. which means the stage volume is ridiculous... just to be heard.

then... my drummer yells at me to turn down all night. i usually use a bassman and with the open back and the amp usually being right next to my feet... he hears more of me than i do... ugh...

Lance

Gold Supporting Member
What's your backup amp?

I would recommend getting like a ZT Lunchbox, or Club 12, and have that as a second amp that you can point at your head. Also loud enough for an emergency back-up amp. Actually, I'd go with the Club 12, and skip the lunchbox. 200W, solid state, capable of 131 dB, and sounds halfway decent. The best feature is that it weighs 24lbs!!! The combo box is just slightly larger than a 12" speaker shipping box, so it can sit in yor trunk or whatever.

SteveO