1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Playing Fast...Talent Versus Practice

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by mlongano, Jan 5, 2008.

1. mlongano

mlongano Member

I started playing over forty years ago and, although I have only played guitar about ten of those forty years, I have never been able to play fast. When I was thirty I spent one year practicing scales for one hour per night. Although I noticed an improvement in speed, I never became anywhere near what I would call fast.

I'm inclined to believe that "talent" or the "ability" to play fast is a big part of the equation. What are your thoughts on the subject?

2. doublee

doublee Member

me neither! I am 50...something, and still no speed to speak of. A kid I grew up with had lots of speed because well, he took lots of it and sat there under a bare light bulb for years practising. I dont really work on it too much I guess because I think I dont need it...maybe, not sure

ee

3. yakyak

yakyak Supporting Member

I haven't got much speed either. I am also in my '50's. It seems as though I have more now than when I was younger and playing more. My opinion on speed is - it is great if you have it but if you don't, it doesn't mean that you aren't a good player. I learned long ago to use my strengths. My most valuable strength is my ability to play with conviction and emotion. IMO that makes up for what I lack in shredding wizardry.

4. Izy

Izy Member

Being able to play fast is an ability that is nice to have.

However, IMHO being able to play tastefully and musically far more important.

Both i think i am unable to do so far.

But i press on and practice. Hopefully one day it will all come together!:dude

5. mlongano

mlongano Member

+1...look at David Gilmour.

I hope a lot of people reply to this thread...both those who can shred and those who cannot.

6. Tone_Terrific

Tone_Terrific Member