please help! do i need a buffer pedal on my board?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by sexyseth30, Feb 4, 2012.

1. sexyseth30

sexyseth30 Member

i am brand new to the gear page and i have a general question.

do i need a dedicated buffer on my pedalboard?

my pedalboard chain consists of guitar>korg pitchblack tuner(truebypass)>crybaby classic wah(truebypass)> mxr phase 90> ibanez ts9 tubescreamer> mi audio crunchbox(truebypass)> maxon cs-550 analog chorus>blackcat mini tremelo(truebypass)>boss dd-20 giga delay>marshall reflector reverb

i'm thinking of adding a t1m mini buffer in the front of the chain and maybe an xotic ep booster at the end of the chain before the amp? how much will this help with tone-loss issues to get me back to sounding as much as being plugged straight into my amp as possible?

by the way this board is powered through a furman sp-8 pedalboard and i'm playing through a fender hot rod deluxe 3 tube amp. i use various fenders and gibsons all with passive pickups.

fyi i first was using the patch bay provided on the furman board but felt it really gave me tone loss problems so it is way better than it used to be and i'm pretty close to being satisfied with my sound so i guess i'm asking do i even need a buffer since i have an equal amount of truebypass and buffered pedals on my board already?

2. Delayed Delay

Delayed Delay Member

I don't know, do you? ;)