Please Help; I (Sadly) Need to be Tube Free.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by PlexiFuzz, Jun 15, 2006.

1. PlexiFuzz

PlexiFuzz I know karate. Voodoo, too.

Well, I was hoping I'd never have to write this, but I am going to have to move away from tube amps for the time being. I've used a tube amp since I started playing guitar almost 20 years ago (albeit a Peavey back then), and I really never thought I'd use anything else. I mean, I've not been a total tube snob---I've had modelers around since I bought my first POD years ago---but my main amp has always been tube.

Anyway, here's the deal: I am no longer gigging or even playing out with friends right now, and I don't see that changing in the near future. Add to that the fact that I live in an apartment in a major city, and a tube amp is just something that doesn't make sense. I can't turn it up, and I just don't love the tones I get turned down. I currently own a Mesa Lone Star Special and, even at the 5W setting, it is WAY too loud for an apartment. WAY too loud. It has a really good MV, but even so, I just can't get into the super-low-volume levels anymore. I've tried a number of other 5W amps, too, and I find the same thing to be true.

So, what to do? That's my dilemma. Here are the choices I've come up with so far. Any thoughts would be appreciated:

Tech 21 Power Engine 60:
    I figured this would give a lot of flexibility since I could stick whatever modeler I was enamored of at the moment (currently the Digitech GNX3000) in front of it and then just switch out modelers when GAS struck. I also thought my pedals (fueled by a ToneBone Hot British) would work okay with it.

Vox Valvetronix (AD series):
    Probably the 50 or 100 watter--turned down to 1 watt, of course. I hate the idea of no independent delay, though.

Roland Cube 60:
    Yes, I've bought into the hype on this board. Plus, I like the idea of an independent delay. Wondering how my GNX3000 would sound into this ...