PLEASE HELP!!! Im a rookie i know hahaha

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Guitarplayerdan, Jul 26, 2005.

1. Guitarplayerdan

Guitarplayerdan Member

Anyways. Sooo I have all these ideas and i need to record. I want decent stuff. Demo worth atleast. So what do i need to get. like this was my plan.

I HAVE THE INSTRUMENTS AND THE MICS (ARE I CAN GET AHOLD OF MOST OF THEM)

about atleast 8 to 16 input mixer
    A two input preamp TUBE. (how much better does that make it sound)?
    Either a mini mac thing are A cheap dell because im not going to be useing any other programs. (with alot of memory) And will i need to ungrade the sound card.
    Something like protools and reason.
    I have a mic to start out with I know what to get soooo I have A (E609) senhiser.
    Is that a good setup up

PLEASE HELP!!!

2. Chiba

Chiba Gold Supporting Member

If you want a bare-bones Pro Tools setup, go with the MBox. You'll be able to use either a Mac or a PC with no problem and your mic will plug right in to the MBox interface. No cards to install - just be SURE whatever computer you get meets (or preferably exceeds) the operating requirements for the MBox.

You don't need a mixer. I did an entire album in Pro Tools without a mixer. With Pro Tools at the 'demo' level the only reason to have a mixer is to get the preamps; since the MBox only has 2 inputs and built-in preamps, you wouldn't need a mixer with the MBox. I use the Digi001 interface and haven't needed a mixer in over 3 years.

You also don't NEED a tube preamp. Unless you're willing to shell out a grand or more, anything 'tube' you'd be getting isn't going to be better than solid-state. The MBox preamps are made by Focusrite, one of the best in the pre business.

I think the 609 is a great mic for guitar especially, and use them myself for that purpose. I also use one live for vocals, so you could probably use it for that for a demo as well with good results.

--chiba

3. tonefreak

tonefreak Member