PLEASE help save my sanity...I am a newbie recorder but have a longtime issue

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by ripley156, Feb 15, 2009.

1. ripley156

ripley156 Supporting Member

Ok, I am going to type a long post...I promise to use periods, commas and paragraphs in hopes of people actually wading through it because I am starting to think I am crazy...I really want to record some music, but I can't get a sound to save my life...I prefer 80's and 90's hard rock and like a "Scorpions meets Van Halen"-type tone...(Please don't hold this against me, lol)

I have had several "real" amplified situations I thought sounded OK...A Digitech GSP 2101 into a Marshall power amp and a Marshall 2/12...I sold that and bought a Vetta 2. (I am reasonably pleased with the sounds I get running through an amp and speakers in a real-life situation. I just want to throw that in the so you know I have found tones I actually like)

Here is my problem... I can't make a recorded guitar sound that even sounds a tiny bit like a "real" guitar. No matter what I have done/tried, it sounds like a lo-fi version of what it should be... (Everything is fizzy, thin, weird, crunchy...Nothing like I would hear on a demo or album...)

I will start awhile back so you know where I have been:

I bought a POD 2.0 and a $20.00 pair of headphones. It sounded HORRIBLE. I don't mean it sounded less than the amp it was trying to model, it seriously sounded crappy, fizzy, shrill and a million other adjectives. The POD died a slow death on a desk in my office because I just couldn't even find a sound that sounded good enough to sit in the living room and doodle with... I read a lot of hype about the POD and figured it really must be great and that maybe I was just too dumb to use it...I finally sold it.

Last year, I bought a Line 6 Toneport. I hooked it up to my PC. Same experience. (note: I still have the same crappy headphones)