Please teach me about mastering basics

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by tochiro, Mar 3, 2012.

1. tochiro

tochiro Member

Hi,

I know how to use Cubase and record audio or midi but I'm a total beginner as regards mastering.

Why do I need to master a final mixdown? What are the basic processes involved? And what software is the most easy to use for that?

From what I've read it seems to be a question of level but I don't understand that...

Thank you for your time.

2. Rex Anderson

Rex Anderson Member

Go to Bob Katz's website http://www.digido.com/

Lot's of articles there for free, or buy his book, "Mastering Audio".

There is a lot more to mastering than level....

Lot's of mastering plug ins-WAVES makes bundles, PSP has some cool stuff.

You need compression, limiting, EQ and reverb at the very least.

Last edited: Mar 3, 2012
  3. shredtheater

shredtheater Member

My grasp of mastering is still at the early stages but regarding software that will enable you master your mixes id recommend looking at iZotope Advanced. Its a great plugin that will really improve your mixed tracks. Theres a bunch of presets to help you in the early stages but as you get more knowledge there is plenty of room in the program to do your own thing. Checkout musicplayers.com for a review

4. stevel

stevel Member

You don't. But we have an industry that has used "extra" stuff (mastering) for various reasons over the years that have created "a sound". So what you're used to hearing on the radio/cd has been mastered. When you make music at home and mix it down you'll keep saying "why doesn't it sound like what I hear on the radio?". It's because you're not mastering it (the way they are - also of course you could be recording it not using the same tools as well, so it won't sound "like the radio").