Please tell me about Barber Tone Press...

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by auffredou, Jan 15, 2008.

1. auffredou

auffredou Member

First of all, let me start by saying that I am completely new to compressors. I had always planned on getting one, as I love the nice touch it adds to the sound of alot of guys whose tone i like.

so...I got my mini bi-comp yesterday, and while I can get some good sounds out of it, its not exactly what I had imagined it as (probably because, like I said, I am new to compressors!). I play a les paul studio, and single notes sound pretty good, although at times they sound distorted at first, and then sound better if thats possible. Also, I tend to get a pretty "muffled" sound Id say when playing chords. I turned the attack all the way up as Ive heard this helps with humbuckers, but still, if I hit a chord hard, it becomes sort of blanketed and almost hard to hear.

I read all kinds of reviews on the Barber Tone Press tonight on a whim, and it seemed like every review I read was speaking right to me. They explained my problems with the "classic compressor sound" almost exactly, and said that the Barber Tone Press is perfect for this type of thing. So anyway, should I look into this? Any opinions? Thanks guys.

2. D.G.

D.G. Member

Yes, I'd recommend a Tone Press. I'd also hold onto the bi-comp! Compression is what I term a "big-boy" effect. There tends to be quite the learning curve to understanding how to use them effectively. I find that subtler settings are better, though YMMV.

3. auffredou

auffredou Member

that is pretty much what i was thinking D.G....my guess was that Im just not ready for such an intense squash (even with the attack adjusted), when Ive never used compression at all.

but the problem is...dont think I have the funds to be holding on to both! especially when ill be looking to get a delay, speaker upgrade, and more in the near future.

4. auffredou

auffredou Member