"Plek Job" by Philtone

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by mbrusso39, Apr 24, 2005.

1. mbrusso39

mbrusso39 Member

I am in the Baltimore area and am lucky enough to be a 30 minute drive from Phil Jacoby of Philtone custom guitar repair (www.philtone.com). Phil has recently acquired a Plek system and well, I just had it done to my 1973 Les Paul Custom that I have been playing for the last 32 years (really I do not feal all that old!). The guitar was refreted around 1977 with big frets as I was not a fan of the fretless wonder frets the guitar was supplied with. As you can imagine the frets have a lot of wear since this is my #1 guitar.

Phil has been my luthier for the last 4 years and is the only one I trust with my #1 as I am very picky about my setup. Phil just moved the shop and is now open for business complete with the new Plek. I think I am number 7 to have this done.

What is a Plek? Think of it as a super microscope measuring device that complety maps out the frets, finger board, neck twist, etc. and provides the luthier with computerized views of how to make corrections such that a balance can be obtained relative to playability, string vibration, etc. This is my interpretation of this as I watched my #1 being worked by the machine. I am sure that Phil can provide the correct defintion of the Plek. I will try to post some pictures so you can see what one of these machines looks like. They are quite substantial, very large heavy, like a robot. It blew me away as to the magnatude of the investment necessary to procure one of these and to learn how to use it.

I cannot express how picky I am on my setups. I like the lowest action possible, yet I stretch the you-know-what out of my strings (these two priorities are always at odds with each other) I demand maximum sustain and tone and do not like compromise. I just got my Plek job (I will refer to this as a "PJ" lol) yesterday and had a 4-hour gig last night.