Plexi style amps - suggestions... Morris, Fargen,...?

Earplayer

Hi there!

Please share your experiences or opinions on the FARGEN and MORRIS amps or maybe you have a great sounding suggestion for a Plexi-style amp.

I am looking for a Plexi style amp at home along with my 212 pre Rola cabinet...
+ low volume applications on this one (dont want an attenuator with this one)
+ needs FX-Loop for Reverb and Delay
+ should be bright and gainy...
+ i would prefere a single channel with very good clean up on the volume pot (maybe a two channel amp or cascaded single...)

Fargen MPMKIII looks nice, Morris JR, ... unfortunately i have no experience with these brands.

Sorry for my bad english... THANKS!

Cheers, Tommy.

C-4

Brunetti Pleximan.
Use search function. About 16 pages on this amp.
I bought one and it has a 5/50 watt switch and many features to bring it up to a JCM800 version as well.
I also have Marshalls and the Pleximan is far more versatile then a Marshall Plexi.

Keep in mind that since we all hear differently, one of the other suggestions may be more to someone's liking then my suggestion.
I would have just bought a Marshall Plexi, but the extra switching options on the Pleximan are what got my attention after the sound it has. It just makes it more attractive to be able to get the same amp into JCM 800 territory as well.

Last edited:

Smacky the Frog

Gold Supporting Member
I don't recall if the Dr. Z Remedy has an effects loop but with the master volume it ticks the other boxes. Plus, when they show up on Reverb the heads are 1,000-1,2000

strumminsix

I've owned a few Fargen amps from the Blackbird series. All great amps. Ben is super friendly and easy to work with. Top notch customer service.

No experience with the model you are considering, but you said you weren't familiar with the "brand" so just giving $.02 on that front. Good luck!

JHand

You've just described the Marshall SV20