• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Point to Point Wiring...better sounding?

Elvis Fury

I'm an amateur builder and by no means that great. I've noticed some builders use point to point wiring with no circuit board. How does this work and is it better (I'm not sure if that's the correct term I'm looking for) sounding than the alternative?Thanks

CodeMonk

PTP better sounding?
No.
Looks cooler? Sometimes.
Easier to repair? Again, sometimes.
Using the same exact components, with the same exact values will sound the same whether on PCB or PTP.
Modulation pedals like delays, even using the same exact components, with the same exact values can sound different however.
With those, signal routing and component placement CAN make a difference.

Making your own PCB's can be a PITA.

cbm

Gold Supporting Member
A good circuit board layout sounds as good as any point-to-point wiring, and often times better, particularly with a good ground plane on the board. A good circuit board layout take some skill and experience, though.

I do have some point-to-point wired pedals, which I absolutely love, but not because of the assembly technique.

Figaro

Silver Supporting Member
PTP better sounding?
No.
Looks cooler? Sometimes.
Easier to repair? Again, sometimes.
Using the same exact components, with the same exact values will sound the same whether on PCB or PTP.