Port calculations

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by merkaba22, Mar 20, 2008.

1. merkaba22

merkaba22 Member

I want to build a 2 x 12 cab within certain size constraints -- does anyone know of or can provide either worked out calculations given various speaker resonant frequencies or "port calculator" that will provide these dimensions that will work on a Mac?

2. Matt Gordon

Matt Gordon Senior Member

Radiotron Designers Handbook has some data worthy of looking. I don't see a real need in a lot of technical math though. Aren't you overthinking it a lottle? From all I can gather, the porting needs to add up to half the total speaker size, in your case, 4X 3" ports. Two 3" ports per 12" speaker. Any smaller and you get a wooshing sound from the ports. Any larger and it starts to sound too flat. The cabinet size can be a bass issue IMHO. Too big and too much woof. Too small and it makes the midrange sit funny against the bass. I'm no expert tho! :eek:

3. merkaba22

merkaba22 Member

That's pretty cool info and a great perspective -- thanks.

I see that a couple of cab manufacturers are also using a narrow slot across (somewhere around) the mid-section of the back of a closed back 2 x 12 and some on the front, usually in the lowest portion of the cab.

Do you know if the area of the four 3" dia ports is meant to be equal to the area of these slots -- do I presume correctly this creates a similar response? Or is there something else to consider?

Further, do you have any insight on how this might be managed with a vertical 2 x 12?

4. Matt Gordon

Matt Gordon Senior Member