Port City Cab Speaker Choices

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Shnook, Mar 24, 2008.

1. Shnook

Shnook Supporting Member

I'm looking into a Port City 2x12 cab to go with my Reinhardt MI-6. I'm not a fan of the V-30's and have no experience with the Celestion Greenbacks. I'm looking for bright and clear and the V-30's seem like the obvious choice, but I've had some poor experiences with those speakers and I'm a little shy of trying them again. Looking for comments from those who used these speakers in the Port City cabs.
    Thanks!

2. MrJacko03

MrJacko03 Member

If you want to avoid V30's....

G12H30............ maybe mixed with G12-65

G12H30 is great with the badger and PC cab.

3. AnthonyL

AnthonyL Silver Supporting Member

Call Port City. He does offer various speakers that are not listed on the site, I believe.

4. Shnook

Shnook Supporting Member

Cool. Thanks for the suggestions!

5. ryhlick

ryhlick Supporting Member

I had the Port City 1x12's and they seemed to love the heritage 1265 speaker. They sounded great and had plenty of top & bottom end.

6. portcitymusic

portcitymusic Supporting Member

I do at times have access to other speakers. You can call me if you like. We can talk about your style and what you want/need from a speaker. I may be able to recommend something for you. Thanks.

Daniel
    Port City Amps

7. bartmcartman

bartmcartman Supporting Member

I bought my port city cab unloaded. So far everything I've put in there sounds better than in my other cab. Right now I have eminence gb's.

8. bartmcartman

bartmcartman Supporting Member

Also, for bright and clear don't rule out the WGS lead 80.

9. GTRJohnny

GTRJohnny Member

The G12H70ths I heard sounded great - agreed about the V30s.. My ears don't like that upper mid snark they have.

10. Iceman8.6

Iceman8.6 Member

The WGS Veteran 30's are snarkless....they are the improved V30.

11. jamison162

jamison162 Supporting Member