Power Amp for Passive Studio Monitors?

PianoMan

Silver Supporting Member
I just got myself a pair of Zaph Audio SR71s (link) for a home studio setup , and now I'm looking for a power amp. I'm fairly new to this side of things however, and I can't find much information out there on what I need for power. From what I can tell from the specs (posted below), I want something that puts out 25-120 watts at 8 ohms. Anyone have any recommendations on what a good choice would be? Budget would be $250-300. For the record, I don't mind buying used.

ZA-SR71 Specifications:

Frequency response: 44 Hz – 20+ kHz
Recommended amplification: 25 W – 150 W per channel
Long term power handling: 80 W
Short term power handling: 250 W
Crossover point: 1.75 kHz (1,750 Hz)
System sensitivity: 85 dB in-box including BSC
Nominal impedance: 8 ohms
15.4” Tall x 9.1” Wide x 11” Deep
0.5 cubic foot (14 liter) bass reflex

Rex Anderson

You want at least 150 watts because they can handle that much (250 watt short term peaks). Most blown speakers are due to not enough power which causes the amp to clip (creating square waves).

85 dB sensitivity is not high, thus you need more power to drive them louder. Headroom (more power) is safety.

A quick check on sweetwater.com showed these:

QSC GX3 and Crown XLS 1000, both selling for $299 new.

PianoMan

Silver Supporting Member
Thanks for that. I'm a little confused on one thing you said though. The QSC advertises 300W per channel, but the specs say I'm not supposed to go beyond 250 watts for short periods of time? Does that wattage get split between the two speakers, or am I just not understanding something?

LSchefman

You can run a more powerful amp than your speakers are rated, if you make sure not to crank the amp all the way (which would probably be so loud there would be more to worry about than your monitors!).

I don't know what your budget is; I've always believed in getting very high quality amplification to passive monitors.