Practice Tools?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by benbenben, Feb 3, 2008.

1. benbenben

benbenben Member

Hey guys,

I've been playing for several years now... and I'm at a stage where, I'd say i was fairly decent and will be able to play in an impromptu band and sound pretty good. What I'm questioning is my lack of theory and "direction" in playing. I've been playing out of feel and experience which is know is great, but i lack the theory behind "why" i play those notes and why they sound as good as they do.

I'm talking about using lots of different scales, and understanding them. Using the different modes and being able to speak in that sorta "use the 7th note, or the minor of that chord" lingo to other band members. I'm really hoping to get some theory lessons this year but it's pricey and as a fulltime student overtaken by GAS, it's really hard to fund it. Is there any good resources out there that'll really help me grasp the concept of 'guitar and music' theory to what i need to know?

2. gennation

gennation Member

You can get a good head start by reading my Beginners to Advanced Series at my lesson site: http://lessons.mikedodge.com

Read though the Intervals section, then move to the Chord Construction, and then onto the Diatonic Theory. It's a ground up approach created to give you a great foundation of things to come when delving into deeper aspects of theory.

That's the stuff you "need to know". For some stuff you might "want to know", check the On Topic Section for individual lessons on many different playing aspects and where they come from.

Based on your description of where you're at, the Advanced Pentatonics Tutorial will probably explain a lot but each topic/lesson is full of surprises.

Make sure you read the Introduction to each lesson though. It'll give the insight for what you are about to learn and what you can take from it.

Good luck and have fun!

3. willhutch

willhutch Member