Practicing with headphones bad for playing technique?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by klapaucjusz1, Jan 9, 2019.

1. klapaucjusz1

klapaucjusz1 Member

I’ve been using a silent home practice rig for many years – a Line 6 Pocket Pod with over-ear AKG headphones. Clean setting only on the Pod, with my pedalboard in front of it, so that it’s similar to using my clean tube amp with my band. I have to play quietly at home most of the time due to family and neighbors.

The problem is that I started noticing that my playing technique from the silent rig doesn’t translate well to my tube amp (a Rivera Chubster 40 combo), which I play with my band (non-professional). I started feeling frustrated that I can’t get my tube amp to sound like my silent rig.

I play the silent rig almost every day, while I play the tube combo only once a week in my band practice space, with the band. So I took the tube amp home to get to the bottom of it.

It turns out that after some practice sessions with the tube amp I started to play slightly differently and get better results from the tube amp. I found that I need to work harder to get good results from the tube amp – so that the notes sound always full, so that there is no audible string buzz, so that the dynamics are more controlled etc.

The obvious solution would be to swith to practicing on my loud amp at home, but it's not going to happen.
    I'm thinking about the folliwing options:
    • Getting something better than a Pocket Pod
    • Getting some headphone solution to work with my actual amp
    • Getting a more forgiving clean tube amp, if such a thing exists
    • Going digital (Kemper, Helix etc) so that I can get more or less the same thing on the headphones and through a speaker.
    What are your thoughts/experiences? Did you have a similar problem?

2. ieso

ieso Member