• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

presonus recommendations?

smolder

Platinum Supporting Member
Looking to invest in a mutli-mic firewire preamp and have kind of settled on the presonus. Looking for some additional directions... considering the Firepod (FP10, the firestudio and the firestudio project. I'm new to digital recording... so I'm not sure how to assess the difference... I know the FP10 is older... but any additional advice or input woudl sure be appreciated.

patrickisbusy

FP10. I've heard a lot of people have had problems with the DICE II chipset in the Firestudios. The drivers are solid for the FP10.

Steve Dallas

FP10. They are rock solid and have the same preamps as the FS line. They have trouble-free drivers and are very reliable. And you can daisy-chain them together as you grow.

smolder

Been reviewing the specs... and I can't wrap my head around the dif between the firestudio and the firestudio project other than led's and some software... any thoughts?

Steve Dallas

The FS handles more simulaneous I/O than the FSP for one thing. I would download both manuals and read them thoroughly to get a handle on the differences.

What's much more important is what DAW software you are using. If you are using Sonar, forget the FS line. Sonar has all sorts of compatibility issues with the DICE II chipset.

Here's my sob story...