Price Check: Limited Colours Edition Les Paul Custom

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by guitarded_1, Mar 28, 2015.

1. guitarded_1

guitarded_1 Member

So for a couple of years now, I have been toying with the idea of selling my beloved Limited Colours Edition Les Paul Custom. My tastes these days tend to lean towards Standards, and this one simply doesn't get much play time. Therefore, I’m considering putting her up for sale. Here’s the thing – I have absolutely no idea how to price it. There just aren't enough comparable sales to get a good idea. Considering that only 200 were made in this particular color (transparent cherry), I guess I’m not surprised.

As you can see from the pics, this isn't a museum piece. I’m a gigging musician, and this guitar has been played for 25 years. So what a collector might view as imperfections, I view as character and vibe. Yellowed binding? Check. Buckle rash? Check. Beat to hell case? Check. But this guitar has always been well cared for. Everything is original, minus the pickups. The original pickups had a bit of a nasal thing going on that I couldn't get into. She is now loaded with a Seymour Duncan Custom 5 in the bridge and a ’59 in the neck. Huge, percussive, woody tone and ALWAYS stays in tune. Frets have some wear, but plenty of life left in them.

So does anyone want to take a stab at what the going rate for this specimen would likely be?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Mar 28, 2015
  2. Schweezly

Schweezly Member

Anything other than one pickup swapped? I'm not a good judge of value, but when I'm in the market for one I'd hope to find it at about $2,500. I'd think you could ask $2,800-$3,000 but guitars seem to be a harder sell at that price right now.

3. guitarded_1

guitarded_1 Member