Problems with my cab. Help please!

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by The Rocket, Oct 6, 2004.

1. The Rocket

The Rocket Member

Hello guys,
    I really could use some help with my rig (Aiken head + 2x12 cab). When I hit the low E at high volumes I hear a very bad "scratch" noise coming from the speakers, even the pilot lamp of the amp flashes when the "scratch" noise occures and then the amp shut down...

I tried the same amp with another cab and everything was fine, no problems there.

I looked at the speakers' solderings and everything seems OK, but I'm not an expert.
    What do you think? Every input will be very appreciated, thanks in advance!
    Massimo

2. spaceboy

spaceboy Member

..... phase...?

:confused:

3. The Rocket

The Rocket Member

I really don't know...could be the speaker..maybe it is breaking down, but I don't understand the flashing of the pilot lamp...that's pretty weird!!!
    Thanks for your interest.

4. fullerplast

fullerplast Senior Member

Was the head sitting on top of the other cab you tried? If not, try that.

Sounds like a vibration triggered bad connection from what you've described so far, probably somewhere around the AC input or PT secondary (since the pilot lamp is tapped off the PT heater output).

5. John Phillips

John Phillips Member

If the pilot light was flickering I'm almost certain the fault is in the amp - not even an intermittent short or open circuit in the cab should cause that, and that's the worst possible case.

If the head doesn't do it with another cab, it must be just that the precise frequency that causes the amp to do it wasn't getting back into the amp for whatever reason.